Samhain and Halloween

This year may well have been the scariest in living memory and all I have craved is something to look forward to. With plans ALL cancelled at the beginning of the year, being the introvert that I am, I felt a relief that I could legitimately stay indoors and not go out. However, once that novelty wore off and the summer rolled around, I was starting to get desperate to see other humans. As the UK lockdown eased, plans could start to be made and the odd social engagement started to creep back into the calendar. Now that the colder months are upon us, more plans are being cancelled due to illness and wanting to do your part of containing this virulent pest.

joseph-gonzalez-E-EEQSjDdck-unsplash

So, I have anticipated Halloween and its Pagan root Samhain with some excitement. I have been watching ‘spooky’ films and have made as many pumpkin spiced goods as I can. I can now say that I have made my own pumpkin waffles, pumpkin latte, pumpkin smoothie and pumpkin spiced cupcakes with obligatory cream cheese frosting.

chris-lawton-5IHz5WhosQE-unsplash

I have lit ‘bonfire’ scented candles, collected my harvest from the allotment and have stored our own pumpkins ready to eat throughout the winter months (note to future Katy when sowing seeds, you only need 5 pumpkin plants, not 10!). I have picked up beautiful autumn leaves and put them in my flower press and will string these up as garlands. I have ticked off many things from my ‘Make the Most of Autumn’ check list.

kristof-topolewski-64Wwg3IdRfw-unsplash

We grew pumpkins this year that were only for eating, Crown Prince and Uchiki Kuri – I think technically they are squashes. I love seeing them emerge through the summer like some leprechaun is stashing bags of gold and swag under the leaves only to be exposed in the autumn as burgeoning coloured balls in an array of colours. Next year, I would like to grow Turks Turban as they are so wonderfully knobbly and colourful.

Looking at the Pagan calendar, I will be celebrating Samhain as well. It marks the end of the harvest and the start of the coldest half of the year. It is celebrated as the beginning of the spiritual new year for practitioners, which is why it is nicknamed “The Witches’ New Year.” Samhain is meant to be shared with those who have passed on as well as those still with us.

freestocks-kVv8AvoKJ7g-unsplash

So that in mind, on the 31st October I will be remembering my loved ones that are no longer with us and now more than ever cherishing my family and friends who I love dearly that are here to love me back. I will light candles and say a thought of remembrance. I don’t think many of us have got away completely unscathed by this current global crisis, so it is important to remind yourself of your health and wellbeing and wish for it in others.

luke-porter-TRys9NU8GiQ-unsplash

I would encourage you to embrace these shared occasions such as Halloween, Bon Fire night on the 5th November and perhaps Thanksgiving on the 26th and give yourself something to look forward to and either bake, cook or make something to go with it. It has given me much needed purpose to plan and count down the days.

Take care.
K xxx

Leave a comment